Excerpts from Reviews

Excerpts from REVIEWS of SHE’S NOT HERSELF

“An honest and compelling story by a brave and gifted writer.”
~ Wally Lamb – author of She’s Come Undone, I Know This Much Is True  and many other novels. Winner of the National Alliance for the Mentally Ill’s Kenneth Johnson Award for the anti-stigmatization of mental illness.

“A story that applies to us all – truthful, carefully crafted, and created with a clear-eyed affection.”
~ David Watts, M.D., poet, writer, musician, NPR commentator

“We identify with the author’s sense of alienation from the first chapter and agonize with her longing for a normal life. SHE’S NOT HERSELF is a revelatory account of someone who grew up with a mentally ill parent and grew up to become an effective, loving mother and a successful professional healer.”
~ Barbara Bamburger Scott, US Review of Books

“I loved going through the journey of Linda’s life with her throughout the memoir not just because of how easy it was to follow along, but how vivid her memories were. She has such a way with words and storytelling. She hooked me from the very first sentence and let me go reluctantly at the end”
~ S.Davis, Mcwood PublishingHonest Literary Reviews

“. . . a well-crafted and fluid narrative. Good description and dialogue, and enough detail to suffice, but not overburden . . . maintains reader interest throughout. Will certainly resonate with those affected by a family member’s mental illness. However, it also speaks to a wider readership because, at the heart of the story resides the resilience of the human spirit.”
~ Diana Irvine, San Fransisco Book Review

There are few books that speak to the children of mentally ill parents as thoughtfully as this one does. Shapiro shows how trauma affects families through generations . . . SHE’S NOT HERSELF is a beautiful coming-of-age story that has the immediacy of a child’s perspective and the wisdom of an adult’s.”
~ Amy Merrick, educator, editor, author

“A riveting tale wrapped in elegant prose . . . full of hope and perseverance”
~ Peggy Sanders, retired journalist, award winning author

“ . . . a beautifully written memoir in the tradition of Eat, Pray Love,
Swallow the Ocean, Three Little Words, or Lucky Her Last Death
~ Rachel Fichter, editor-at-large

“For Shapiro’s amazing recall and deep penetration into her past, this memoir reminds me of Remembrance of Things Past, and for its ease of readability, A Tree Grows in Brooklyn.
~ P. Topping, linguist

“Inspiring and eloquent . . . vividly captures the cultural context of an immigrant family living with the trauma of mental illness and its effect on all family relationships.”
~Joseph Giordano, CSW, co-editor Ethnicity and Family Therapy

“A Compelling tale of human tragedy and triumph with empathy and love.”
~ Pamposh Dhar, founder of the Terataii Reiki and Counseling Centre, Singapore

“Not another ‘woe is me’ account of dysfunction, but rather a heroic account of mastery and grace.”
~ Roberta Temes, author,  Learning How to Write a Memoir in Thirty Days

“Excellent writing that will help many, many others find the strength to overcome the struggles they are dealt.”
~ Madeline Sharples, author, Leaving the Hall Light On